Pietersen out of England T20 squad
08:52 AEST Thu Jul 19 2012

Kevin Pietersen's dream of helping England defend their World Twenty20 title appears to have been dashed after he was left out of a provisional 30-man squad.

Pietersen, England's man of the tournament when they won the World Twenty20 in the Caribbean two years ago - their first major limited overs title - recently retired from all white ball internationals.

The South Africa-born batsman wanted to continue to play Twenty20 matches while opting out of 50 overs per side one-day international fixtures.

But England said the terms of his central contract meant he had to be available for both of those formats and that the only alternative was to opt out of all limited overs international cricket, which he duly did.

England's most recent Twenty20, a seven-wicket win over the West Indies at Trent Bridge last month, saw Alex Hales make 99 in the opener's spot recently vacated by Pietersen.

Hales was duly included in a 30-man squad where his Nottinghamshire colleague Stuart Broad remains captain.

Seam bowler Broad, a talented lower order batsman, was one of seven survivors from the team that beat Australia in the 2010 final in Barbados along with batsmen Michael Lumb, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, all-rounders Luke Wright and Tim Bresnan and off-spinner Graeme Swann.

This squad also included Alastair Cook, England's one-day captain and Strauss's opening partner in Tests, in-form batsman Ian bell and Test wicket-keeper Matt Prior, an alternative behind the stumps to Kieswetter.

The issue of Pietersen's availability for the World Twenty20, which gets under way in September, has overshadowed the build-up to the first Test against South Africa at the Oval, headquarters of his county side Surrey, starting on Thursday.

Provisional England World Twenty20 squad

Stuart Broad, (capt), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Gareth Batty, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Scott Borthwick, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Alastair Cook, Steven Croft, Steven Davies (wkt), Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter (wkt), Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Samit Patel, Matt Prior (wkt), Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Graeme Swann, James Taylor, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright

Panthers win NYC, Jets the state champions
Most popular articles
Spotted....Professional surfer
strikes in fashion
Wide World of Sports TV partners
Footy ClassifiedOur award winning panel tell it how it really is in the AFL world.Wide World of SportsCatch up with Ken Sutcliffe and the team on Wide World of Sports.NRL Footy ShowFatty and the gang bring you an entertaining look at rugby league.AFL Footy ShowAustralia's favourite team takes you through the week in AFL.