Jose Manuel Lara has been disqualified from the European PGA's BMW International Open after his caddie tried to hide the fact that the Spaniard began the event with an extra club in his bag.
The incident came to light after 35-year-old Lara, twice a winner on the circuit, had shot an opening 73 on Thursday.
European Tour chief referee John Paramor said: "His caddie noticed that he had a 15th club and on the second hole he attempted to lose it in a thick bush.
"He was seen entering the bush with the bag of clubs by his playing partners (Ireland's Damien McGrane and Swede Peter Hedblom), who thought it was a little bit suspicious.
"They went and asked the chap 'What are you doing?' and he sort of fumbled out an answer saying 'I've got this wrong - I've done something bad. I wish it hadn't happened, etc etc'.
"It was clear the club was out of the bag and in the bush at the time. He admitted it straight away and regretted his action.
"A ruling was sought over what was the penalty for carrying an extra club and he was given two shots for the first hole and two for the second."
Without those Lara would have returned a three-under 69 and been in contention, but on the 18th hole a referee was summoned to the recording area and that is when the full story was told.